First Time Around

For a while, whenever you asked I was delighted to oblige.
I thought our feelings were mutual.
A fair trade, so to speak.
So, all of me I gave to you, filled to the brim
(No one warned me to keep a little for myself, you know, just in case).
I gave you my warmest parts.
My untamed laughter and sweetest smiles.
You greedily took it all
Filled your pockets, all four of them, until my things were spilling from you.
In return, you gave me nothing.
Then you skipped away.
Now here I stand empty, cold and mad as hell!

Leave a Reply

